You are going to FLIP!

Below you will find a video that I produced using Camtasia.  I created this video with a couple purposes in mind.  First, I envisioned this video being used as a tool to use in the classroom because it is something simple that I could leave for a substitute teacher to play. My students would still be learning from me, their teacher, even in my absence. Secondly, I created this video for the purpose of flipping a math homework assignment. In the end, this video was created for my students. They are my audience. This video was made with the intent that they would benefit and learn from it. According to Finkel, “in-house videos align better and more closely with the district’s curriculum, and students prefer seeing their own teachers” (Finkel, 2012). My hope is that by cohesively incorporating visual, audio, and text students understanding will heighten. This video is also powerful because it could potentially have another audience: parents. Parents can watch this video also to understand what their child is learning in school. The mathematical methods students learn today differs from the way their parents learned math. Other educators could also show this video to their students and parents. If this video helps just one person in my audience to better understand the concept of PEMDAS, I will consider it a success.

Video can be a very useful tool in the classroom because they can be utilized for a variety of purposes. I hope to create many instructional and tutorial type videos for my students and parents. However, I also want my students to not only be consumers, but also producers. I want my students creating. I want them to understand how to make a video. If I make videos for them, I can model for them the video making process. Videos are seen as more engaging. However, in order for a video to be engaging, there needs to be a lot of thoughtful storyboarding. Videos are not just automatically engaging. The work behind making a good video is very mindful and involves thinking across many mediums. Keeping in mind the story or message you are trying to portray and supplement that with dynamic film and audio is not an easy task.

In the future, I hope to flip my class using augmented reality. Aurasma and Daqri are great tools that will support this flipping. I have flipped 4th grade social studies, in the past. I managed this by using a wiki and weebly student blogs. I integrated social studies with our technology time. Videos that I used in the wiki were already created and found on Youtube. I also put helpful videos up on my classroom website. A foreseeable goal I have for myself is to try to flip another subject using other mediums and by creating my own media.

If I flip the classroom, my class will be able to dig deeper following the video lesson, which will lead to more meaningful learning. Flipping homework can facilitate a deeper discussion and better understanding, as a class. When students begin creating, students who grasp concepts can create their own videos to help students who may be struggling. This peer collaboration can be so powerful and I want to have that kind of learning environment with my class. When planning a flipped classroom, remember to keep in mind the purpose. Ask yourself: Why are you flipping? Who is your audience? What is the message? You are going to FLIP!

Resources:

Finkel, E. (2012). Flipping the script in K-12. District Administration. Retrieved from http://www.districtadministration.com/article/flipping-script-k12

 

Leave a Reply

