Turning the Page

“How lucky I am to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard.” -Winnie the Pooh

I am blessed to be a part of the MAET (Master’s in Educational Technology) family. So many people have influenced my learning up to this point and its been such an amazing journey. Tomorrow is graduation day. I had no idea that I would be feeling all the emotions that I am feeling now.  Though this chapter is ending and I am turning the page in this book we call life, I will be forever touched by the MAET family.

This program’s rigor has pushed me beyond what I thought I could ever do. The challenges have helped me evolve into a better educator and individual. I feel that this program has equipped me with the mindsets, tools, and skills I need to be a successful technology integrator in the making. This year especially, I’ve learned the importance of making educational decisions that can be backed up by research. I think this will help me better education for my students.

Upon finishing my first year in the program, I was given the opportunity to broaden my horizons and fulfill a teaching goal of mine. I’ve always wanted to teach somewhere new, out of state or overseas, to gain new experience that I could bring back to Michigan. I interviewed for an educational technology position at Kamehameha Schools Hawaii and was offered the job. I feel that this was directly connected to everything I learned my first year studying in the MAET program. Michigan State University has definitely opened up the gates to global opportunities for me.

I’ve always had the philosophy that learning never stops but I never truly understood what it meant to have a growth mindset until I was immersed in the MAET program. I feel comfortable modeling failure, learning from your mistakes, sharing my learning process, and am not afraid to try new things. Purpose and intent will influence my use of technology in the classroom. I hope to model that technology should not be used just for the sake of technology. Reconnecting with my creative side has amplified my own vision for possibility. I know that my teaching practice has potential to become much more illuminated.

An overarching theme we had this summer was Spartans Will. I designed this poster on the first day of class and remixed it on the last day of class. If you scan the poster using Daqri, you will be guided through an experience to show what this Spartan Did.  This augmented reality experience displays the multimodal work I’ve done this summer.

VERSION 5

I am walking away from this program with SO much. My explanations in this post don’t even give this experience justice. I am definitely a more thoughtful and reflective individual. Growing as a professional in a digital world is by no means an easy task. My colleagues and professors have been more supportive than I could have ever imagined.

Michigan State University blessed me with the best mentor teacher ever, Mary Wever. Throughout my year student teaching, she shaped me into a confident educator and led me to the MAET program. I looked into the program and new that it was something for me. I also knew other people who had gone through the program and I heard nothing but exceptional things about it.  All my expectations were exceeded. I am so excited knowing what is in store for my friend Deidre Stasiak and everyone who will join MAET in the future.  They have no idea what they are getting themselves into.

“Find a group of people who challenge and inspire you, spend a lot of time with them, and it will change your life” – Amy Poehler

Leave a Reply

